Blueberries and Ginger?

iaw-exclusive1

I was feeling inspired in the kitchen today…It’s no secret I love to cook but what I really love to do is create something out of nothing! I just love opening up the fridge or pantry and seeing what I have. I don’t flip through recipes, I don’t make a market run, and I don’t ask what everyone is in the mood for. I just cook. As a nanny, I’m a firm believer in ‘ You eat what’s in front of you or nothing at all.’ I don’t cater to picky eaters and I will not make 4 different meals. It’s just not who I am.

Today, I was with a family who have three children; a 9 year old, a 6 year old and a 3 year old. As such good eaters, they have become my Guinea Pigs. (Yayy me!). Today I opened the fridge and found a gold mine! There was chicken, carrots, blueberries, ginger, and white wine! In the pantry, I scored Jasmine Rice, Minnesota Wild Rice, garlic, and an onion! I was so excited I was practically jumping (yep, that’s me. The weirdo excited to cook!). I combined all these delicious ingredients and WALLLA! I have created brilliance yet again– Blueberry Ginger Chicken with InAshleysWorld Rice. (Its called InAshleysWorld Rice because, I mixed a bunch of stuff together and made it my own. And, I will probably never make it with the same ingredients again. )

Oh. And the kids? They loved it. I have never seen them eat so fast AND ask for not only seconds, but thirds! Check out the recipe below and tell me what you think when you make it for your family at home!

-Ashley

iak-recipe1

  • 1 package of skinless boneless chicken breasts
  • 3 cloves of garlic minced
  • ½ an onion diced
  • ¾ teaspoon of ginger ( or 1/3 a finger of fresh ginger)
  • 2 small handful of blueberries ( ½ a container)
  • ¼ a cup of dry white wine ( any will do as long as it’s not sweet)
  • 1 cup total of rice ( 3.5 parts jasmine, and .5 parts wild rice)
  • 2 coarsely chopped carrots
  • 1 tablespoon of stick butter

Add ½ tbls of butter to small saucepan on low heat. Once butter melts, add rice mixture. After several minutes (you should hear sizzling and pooping sounds) Add 1 ½ cups of water. Toss in carrots and cover (keep the heat to low, if its boils it’s too high!) Do not stir until water has evaporated. Once water is gone rice should be done!

In a frying pan on low-med heat, melt remaining butter. In a bowl, season chicken (I used paprika, cumin, basil, and oregano) once butter is melted, add chicken. When chicken is ¾ quarter cooked, add wine and raise the heat (only slightly). When wine is reduced, crush handful of blueberries over pan. ( no worries if they don’t all pop, but squeeze them good!) After several minutes, the blueberries and wine will be almost syrupy and thick. Turn off heat and let cool. Serve with rice (maybe a side salad) and enjoy!

logo-white

Leave a Reply

